Three Regents’ Professors appointed

A&S logo

Posted: June 11, 2021

The College of Arts and Sciences is pleased to announce its new Regents’ Professors.

Regents’ Professor is a special title bestowed on selected full professors who, in the judgment of the Dean and on the advice of a faculty selection committee, merit recognition of their accomplishments as teachers, scholars and leaders both in University affairs and in their national/international professional communities. In addition to the title “Regents’ Professor,” which is retained for the balance of an awardee’s career, this appointment also carries an annual stipend during the three-year term.

The three Regents’ Professors appointed for Annual Years 2022-2024 are:

Professor Robert Berrens
Department of Economics


Professor Jennifer Rudgers
Department of Biology


Professor Diane Thiel
Department of English Language and Literature


Dean Peceny and our College faculty congratulate these awardees for the many contributions they have made over the years to their departments, the University and their disciplines.

Read the full story at UNM Newsroom.