2023 Teaching & Curriculum Awards

The College of Arts & Sciences is pleased to announce that the following individuals have been recognized for their service and leadership to the College over the course of this past year.

Teaching Excellence Award Recipients

The Arts & Sciences Teaching Excellence Award honors A&S faculty, lecturers, adjunct instructors, and graduate teaching assistants who have made outstanding contributions to the College’s instructional mission.


Jesse BonafedeJesse Bonafede, English Language & Literature

Teaching Assistant



Andreas HernandezAndreas Hernandez, Geography & Environmental Studies/Sustainability Studies

Lecturer III


Mike RoccaMike Rocca, Political Science

Associate Professor



Nicholas SchwartzNicholas Schwartz, English Language & Literature

Adjunct Instructor





Honorable Mentions

Tiffany Bourelle, English Language & Literature

Associate Professor

Jinjing Wang, Economics

Associate Professor

Owen Whooley, Sociology & Criminology

Associate Professor


Marshall Award for Course Development and Curriculum Enhancement

The Marshall Award for Course Development and Curriculum Enhancement honors Diane L. Marshall’s career-long commitment to improving the classroom experience of UNM students.

Allen Butt



Allen Butt, Psychology


  Kelly Howe



Kelly Howe, Biology

Noah Painter Davis



Noah Painter-Davis, Sociology

Eva Rodriguez Gonzalez



Eva Rodríguez-Gonzalez, Spanish & Portuguese


William P. and Heather W. Weber Award for Teaching Excellence

The annual William P. and Heather W. Weber Award for Teaching Excellence honors Lecturers or Part-Time Instructors who exemplify excellence in undergraduate teaching in any science or math discipline within A&S.

Kathleen Sorenson, Mathematics & Statistics



Khalid Ifzarene, Department of Mathematics & Statistics

Part-Time Instructor